What I Saw In Him.

#my500words – Day 3

I have been with this man for 241 months. It was not love at first sight for me when we first met. I never believed in that. Like a song’s melody, I may be drawn to a person for his looks. But the lyrics is what makes me stay – its meaning, its essence, its character.

I am reminded about that again today when I had my quiet time. I read the book “When couples walk together” – a gift from my dear friend Nancy. At the end of the chapter I was reading, it said, “Go ahead and make a list of at least 5 things you appreciate about your spouse.

Here’s my list.

First, he loves me. He is a man of few words. But when he does speak, he says the right words that melt my heart. He doesn’t only convey his love through words but also in his actions. Like in the simplest of things such as giving me a foot massage. Or a tight hug. Always when I needed them. I admit that my favorite place in the world is in his arms. He is my home.

411521_10151007190701633_789395103_o

Second, he loves my family. Even those who are hard to love. He is in fact closer to some of them than I am with them. He treats my nephews and niece like they were his own children. He cares for them. A lot of people have mentioned that I am fortunate to have someone like him in this aspect. I agree. Some even said that if they were in his shoes, they wouldn’t care as much as he does. Yes, I am blessed.

with my nephews, niece, and our son…
178983_10151455555041633_222536681_n

Third, he loves his family. And he is not afraid nor embarrassed to show this. It is rare nowadays to find a grown man saying “I love you” to his mom and to his sisters. He hugs them and kisses their foreheads. This I find so endearing.

20363_252224261632_8379206_n

Fourth, he loves our son. One memory that will always be clear is that no one has ever touched our son’s baby bottles except him. He personally cleaned and sterilized them. So thoroughly. Making sure there were no soap residues. He is actually more protective of our son than I am. No mosquitoes allowed near our son. Hahaha. I could just imagine how he would be if we had a daughter. 😉

with our son, 16 years ago…
486835_10151458736001633_1233210142_n

Fifth and definitely not the least, he loves God. This might be unimaginable especially to those who have known him in his younger days. He is not faultless. His life’s journey is colorful but definitely a great testimony of God’s grace. He is a work in progress, like most of us. But I can truly say that he is far from who he was before. I can only thank God for this. When I travel, he prays for me over the phone. Knowing that he fears God has been my only source of peace. If I have an issue with him, I let God fight my battles for me. I let God deal with him. It is the most effective of all.

There are more things I appreciate about my husband. Like his weird sense of humor. Like how he is kind and friendly to people from all walks of life. Like how he doesn’t mind sharing household chores. I can go on and on. Yes, my husband has his shortcomings and weaknesses. But as Philippians 4:8 (NIV) says, “Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.”

It is my choice to see the good in my husband. And count my blessings.

http://goinswriter.com/my500words/

1522521_633168259579_1027695658_o

My Progress:
January 3 – Day 1 – 579
January 4 – Day 2 – 792
January 5 – Day 3 – 626

Leave a Reply

